Santa Fe

18 May

I spent last week in Santa Fe and Albuquerque, New Mexico, for work and for some play. My mom has an office there and some of her friends invited us over for appetizers before we went out to dinner. Look at how pretty the table was!

The best thing about this table was that they made sure that there were plenty of gluten-free options. One of our hosts is trying to be gluten-free herself and took care to have plenty of options. I love it when that happens. It is great that celiac and gluten intolerance is becoming more mainstream. I know that there are still plenty of people that think it is impossible to eat without gluten, but I think the tide is turning and that makes me happy.

There was a surprise at the table though:

I totally thought these were olives. I have a love/hate relationship with olives, but similar to my taste for scotch, I think that all adults should have an adventurous and varied palate, so I try to like both. It’s working, sort of. The scotch, yes, the olives, I still have trouble liking. We kept talking about olives, until the host informed us that these were not black olives, but dark chocolate covered dried Bing cherries. Oh my. SO good. It was a great surprise. I didn’t have to pretend to like the olives and had some chocolate instead.

2 Responses to “Santa Fe”

  1. Dylan Atkinson May 18, 2008 at 1:19 pm #

    Chocolate covered dried Bing cherries? Wow, that sounds fantastic. I’m with you on the olives 🙂

  2. Liz May 18, 2008 at 3:04 pm #

    Ha! I was thinking, “Damn, those olive look amazing!”…but, really, chocolate covered cherries beat olives everytime.

Leave a Reply

