Back to the tundra

15 Dec

It’s days like today that make me really wonder why I stay here. Really, what is holding me back from picking up and moving somewhere civil? We have so much snow already, the freeway is impassable and I can’t wear any of my stylish shoes. This is no way to live. And–I really don’t want to hear from any more people that this isn’t really that cold–because it IS. I don’t want to be told to wait for February or that this is how winter is Supposed to be. -14F is REALLY COLD. I don’t care how tough you are trying to be, quit it. No one wants to hear it. There is no room for PollyAnna when it takes you an hour to drive 12 miles.

2 Responses to “Back to the tundra”

  1. Liz December 15, 2008 at 8:07 pm #

    my feet can’t get warm. And I don’t want to go out into the cold again so much that I will make vegan hot dogs and buns from scratch instead of driving 2 miles to the co-op. I feel your pain.

  2. Scott December 15, 2008 at 11:15 pm #

    My house is making creaking sounds – the pvc pipe from my furnace vent meeting the icicle-forming cold outdoors sent me to the basement, the crawl space, and finally outside with a flashlight to investigate noises that just weren’t making me happy. The pond at home would make sounds like that when it was frozen over and got extra cold. But I’m buried in fleece, cats and a laptop for warmth. I don’t feel your pain, but I’m sad about it.

Leave a Reply

