Moving to San Francisco

21 Mar

 

This week my mom and I are visiting San Francisco to see if I should really move there. We will be visiting the branch of Miami Ad there, eating at Chez Panisse and having lots of fun in general.

But…

I’m starting to waffle on my decision to move. I already quit my job. I haven’t put my notice on my apartment yet, but that’s next. This last week I have had more fun in Minneapolis than probably ever. What do I do? I’ve met awesome new friends this week, had a great date (and a few terrible ones-details will follow) and it has been really nice out! Sun! It’s amazing what a little sun can do to make you forget about winter.

I’m thinking that I should stay in Minneapolis through the summer, find some job waiting tables, do great work at school, then head to an internship on the West Coast in October, when it gets cold again. I also want to spend some time on the East Coast, and maybe in between too.

Why would I want to leave Minnesota when it’s the nicest? I think I made my decision under the duress of February, which is never a good time to make decisions.

I’ve decided to take Liz’s advice and make a Pro/Con list. Here we go:

Pros: There’s no February in Minnesota in California. It’s a new city to explore. San Francisco is BEAUTIFUL. There are tons of adventures to be had, and potentially a great school experience. Minnesota Nice will be left in Minnesota.

Cons: I don’t know anyone there. I have no savings-and won’t have much to move with unless I can sell some stuff. I really, really love my apartment right now. I love living in Uptown. We have great co-ops here. I have awesome friends here. My best friends live here. My family is all here. Lake Harriet. The Greenway. The bikers. The great farmers markets (in summer that is). The wonderful network of people who make my heart happy. There is a great design community here. We have tons of art and culture and diversity.  I love my bike and my apartment and my community here. I would have to live with strangers, probably a few of them. I would be struggling for everything I’m sure. I’m not sure I want to give everything I have here up.

Sigh. I hate making decisions.

OK-now it’s your turn. Feel free to add pro’s and con’s as you see fit.

4 Responses to “Moving to San Francisco”

  1. nicole. March 21, 2010 at 7:46 pm #

    When it comes down to it, all big cities are the same when you’ve been there long enough.

    San Fran also has great culture, year round farmers markets, etc.

    You have to follow your heart, lady.

  2. Jonathan Marcus April 6, 2010 at 12:34 am #

    San Francisco isn’t that cool. Stay in Minnesota and continue enjoying yourself.

  3. Loving the Bike April 20, 2010 at 12:08 am #

    As a lover of warm climates it is a no brainer for me, but you have to make the move for your own reasons. I’m also in the process of a relocate to a warmer climate and I would say you should definitely go for it.
    Do it and don’t look back.

    Darryl

  4. actualchad August 15, 2010 at 8:30 pm #

    I loved San Francisco when I visited it in 2003. The wind was bitingly cold, but you live in Minnesota, so it’s probably just “brisk” for you.

    Look at it this way – as a punchline:
    If you’re in Minnesota, you would say “Hey, it was either here or San Francisco!” (boom tish)
    If you’re in San Francisco, you would say “Hey, it was either here or Minnesota!” (boom tish)

    The one that makes you glad of your choice is probably the right one.

    Huzzah,
    Chad

Leave a Reply

