Plastic and the City

28 Oct

Things are great here. Really really great. The city has the most amazing energy, people are alive (mostly) and I killed 3 mosquitos last night. This didn’t save me from waking up with a few new bites, but hey. It’s a step.

Sometimes I get so caught up in the greatness of my life right now that I feel like I can do anything. Like drink until 4 in the morning. Or start smoking again. Or eat out for lunch every single day and not think that it will eventually catch up with me. I can see how people get caught up in the craziness of things and stop remembering what is really important: Friends. And Family. And being good to each other and our space.

This brings me to my next point. The plastic bag situation here is crazy. OUT OF CONTROL crazy. Because of my current living situation, I am somewhat forced to eat out more than I would like to, so I notice the consumption that I and others around me participate in.

For example: Yesterday I went to get a salad at this place that makes them in front of you. You choose the greens, which you pick up out of a cooler, they are in a plastic tub, then you give them to the salad maker, and he mixes your lunch.  Bring it to the counter, they automatically put it in a plastic bag for you, and shove plastic forks, knives, napkins, and send you on your way. About half of the people just walk over to the seating area, unwrap the plastic bags and eat it FOUR FEET AWAY. This hardly constitutes the need for a bag. Yesterday I told the girl at the counter that I didn’t need the bag, so she looks at me-very confused-and takes my salad out of the bag. She then puts a NEW BAG inside what was going to be my bag-for the next person. I’m assuming this was because the plastic from my salad touched the inside of the first bag. Uh-oh. Don’t want any germs or anything.

I’m sorry. It’s not her fault. It’s not really the people who walk a few feet only to throw the just used plastic bag away, minutes after using it. It’s all of our faults for letting it get this bad.

I’ve got more. But for today, I don’t need a bag, thank you.

Leave a Reply

